French Macarons

It has been a month since I posted anything. It was Zoée’s first birthday a couple weeks ago and that consumed all my time in prep. Plus I was blessed with family visiting for her birthday. I have worked on some of the photos from her party. When I’m done I’ll share.

I think French Macarons are the prettiest and most colorful cookies to photograph. And yes, lovely decorated sugar cookies are a close second. But anything that screams France can’t be beat. Yes, I romanticize about Paris, and have since my teens. My husband, Luc, Zoée and I went to Ottawa’s Farmer’s Market today at Lansdown Park. They rebuilt the area, along with the arena, and it’s beautiful. We rushed out of the house and I forgot my camera. I do plan on bringing my camera in the future. Being Canada there wasn’t a whole lot of yummy produce yet anyways. Here is where the macarons ( some spell it macaroons.) come into the picture. There was a pastry booth there selling cookies. Luc pointed them out and said, “Hey look macarons”. I was delighted at the variety. I think Luc was as well. I just wish they weren’t so expensive. A dozen for $19 CAD. The lady there was so friendly it made for a lovely experience.

 Once we got home, settled in and ate, I took photos of these colorful cookies. I couldn’t wait till tomorrow cause my husband wants to eat them tonight. I set up at my north facing screen door to catch the late afternoon sun. My husband had to work as my assistant holding the reflector to help tame the deepening shadows. So here are the various photographs I took of the oh so yummy and delightful French Macarons.

Macarons with a couple pretty purple flowers from my garden.

Macarons with a couple pretty purple flowers from my garden.

A shot from the top down. A French Kiss texture added to the photo.

A shot from the top down. A French Kiss texture added to the photo.

Luc wants one now.

Luc wants one now.

Still in the box from the Ottawa Farmer's Market.

Still in the box from the Ottawa Farmer’s Market.

This one I edited to make it look old school.

This one I edited to make it look old school.

Tower of macaroons with Peonies in the background.

Tower of macaroons with Peonies in the background.

French Macarons with a Lily from my garden.

French Macarons with a Lily from my garden.

4 thoughts on “French Macarons

Leave a Reply

